(DES MOINES) -- This morning, House Speaker Pat Grassley (R-New Hartford) announced appointments for House committee chair positions in advance of the Ninetieth General Assembly.

"After further growing our Majority this election, our caucus now represents all 99 of Iowa's 99 counties. We are in a better position than ever to listen to Iowans and deliver on their priorities in this upcoming session. 

This group of hardworking legislators is ready to get to work for our constituents. Our caucus is strong because of our wide breadth of experience and backgrounds to help us tackle all of the issues Iowans care most about. Together, and with strong leadership from our committee chairs we will continue to deliver results for Iowa."

Committee Chairs are as follows:
Standing Committees:
Administrative Rules Review
Rep. Megan Jones (R-Sioux Rapids) – Chair
Rep. Mike Sexton (R-Rockwell City) – Chair
Rep. Gary Mohr (R-Bettendorf) – Chair
Rep. Shannon Lundgren (R-Peosta) – Chair
Economic Growth
Rep. Ray Sorensen (R-Greenfield) – Chair
Rep. Skyler Wheeler (R-Hull) – Chair
Education Reform
Rep. Pat Grassley (R-New Hartford) – Chair
*The Education Reform Committee will be a 5-person committee dealing with bills containing significant reforms to our educational system

Environmental Protection
Rep. Dean Fisher (R-Montour) – Chair
Rep. Anne Osmundson (R- Volga) – Chair
Government Oversight
Rep. Brooke Boden (R-Indianola) – Chair
Human Resources
Rep. Ann Meyer (R-Fort Dodge) – Chair
International Relations
Rep. Eddie Andrews (Johnston) – Chair
Rep. Steve Holt (R-Denison) – Chair
Rep. Dave Deyoe (R-Nevada) – Chair
Local Government
Rep. Shannon Latham (R-Sheffield) – Chair
Natural Resources
Rep. Tom Jeneary (R-Le Mars) – Chair
Public Safety
Rep. Phil Thompson (R-Jefferson) – Chair
State Government
Rep. Jane Bloomingdale (R-Northwood) – Chair
Rep. Brian Best (R-Glidden) – Chair
Veterans Affairs
Rep. Chad Ingels (R-Randalia) – Chair
Ways & Means
Rep. Bobby Kaufmann (R-Wilton) – Chair
Appropriations Subcommittees:
Administration and Regulation Appropriations
Rep. Michael Bergan (R-Dorchester) – Chair
Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations
Rep. Norlin Mommsen (R-DeWitt) – Chair
Economic Development Appropriations
Rep. Martin Graber (R-Fort Madison) – Chair
Education Appropriations
Rep. Carter Nordman (R-Panora) – Chair
Health and Human Services Appropriations
Rep. Joel Fry (R-Osceola) – Chair
Justice Systems Appropriations
Rep. Brian Lohse (R-Bondurant) – Chair
Transportation, Infrastructure, and Capitals Appropriations
Rep. Jacob Bossman (R-Sioux City) – Chair

Vice Chairs and full committee assignments will be announced at a later date.  The Ninetieth General Assembly begins Monday, January 9, 2023.



Share this post